Peanut Butter Pie

Can we talk about peanut butter for a minute?  Which side are you on?  Camp love-it or camp hate-it?  Creamy or crunchy?  I fall into camp love-it and creamy, please.  I don’t know many that stand on the neutral line with peanut butter.  So, I will happily admit that I am in  LOVE!  Peanut butter cups are my guilty pleasure.  Chewy peanut butter cookies are my jam.  Peanut butter on apple slices are my go-to snack or lunch.

Yesterday my little brother turned 24.  And, I guess that makes us twins because now we are both rocking 24… never mind that I have celebrated a small handful of “24th” birthdays.  Sooo… Moving right along.  My family has an old-school, homemade birthday dinner tradition – where your dinner and dessert requests are granted by Momma-dearest.  So in keeping with tradition, my “twin” brother placed his requests.  Venison stew, a salad he can dump bleu cheese dressing on and for dessert…….

His Birthday dessert request is the one peanut butter treat that is so airy, fluffy, dreamy, and over-the-top indulgent that I cannot, will not allow myself to make it.  Peanut Butter Pie.

IMG_2376.JPG

I do not want to hear about the undoubtedly high calorie count, nor do I care.  This is worth the splurge!……. Note to self:  You deem a lot of items splurge worthy.  Look into that.  Or maybe don’t.  

So ya’ll, I am taking a page from Momma-dearest’s repertoire today.  Because Peanut Butter Pie.

IMG_2358.jpg

Traditional flaky pie crust (But, I bet graham cracker crust would also be pretty awesome!).  A layer of melted semi-sweet chocolate chips.  And a mountain of fluffy, creamy peanut buttery filling.

Need a make-ahead dessert?  You can make this pie up to 3 days ahead of time!  Need a relatively easy dessert?  No-bake filling, and I won’t judge you for going pre-made on the crust;)  Want something a little outside the box? In my book, a dessert that is essentially a giant open-face peanut butter cup is sufficiently outside the box.

By the way, I am in recipe-delevopment mode on a bite-size version of this recipe.  Think a truffle meets a buck-eye ball  – but with cloud like decadent peanut butter filling.  Why the heck not?!  So watch for those little guys in the weeks to come!  

IMG_2365.jpg

In the meanwhile, compliments of Momma-Dearest, take in the wonders of Peanut Butter Pie!  “Twin” brother approved for 24 years.

Peanut Butter Pie

Servings: 10-12

Total Time:  3+ hours (includes cooling)                 Active time: 30 minutes

Crust

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2/3 cup shortening (Crisco)
  • Water

Chocolate Ganache

  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 3 tbl. whipping cream

Filling

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 6 tbl. butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter, creamy
  • 8 oz. cool whip

Disclaimer: Use any pie crust recipe you desire!  This is my mom’s crust recipe.  It works well for her, but despite many attempts, I am not successful at it.  So use what works for you!

If following this crust recipe, mix dry ingredients.  Divide shortening into tablespoon sized pieces and combine with dry ingredients.  Add just enough water, one teaspoon at a time, for the dough to stay together.  Roll out dough and place it in a pie plate.  Use pie weights or dry rice on parchment to help Pinch edges and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes.

For ganache, melt chocolate chips and stir in whipping cream.  Spread over interior of cooled pie shell.  Allow ganache to cool and set.

Melt butter and brown sugar together in small saucepan.  Mix in milk and peanut butter until well combined.  Allow mixture to cool to room temperature. Combine peanut butter mixture and cool whip in a stand mixer until combined.  Place in pie crust and allow to cool for 2+ hours and up to 3 days.  Create a tent with plastic wrap while chilling if longer than over night.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

