Peruvian-Style Green Sauce

One of the things that coincides with choosing to live in a smaller and older home is that just about every piece of furniture, shelf, nook and cranny must serve double duty – everything must have multiple uses, functions, or purposes.  Our eating space in the kitchen has storage cabinets under the seats.  The “bench” in our living room is really a trunk that stores our collection of DVDs.  The hall closet is both coat closet and home to our vacuum cleaner. Our home is an exercise in function over form.  Utility over glam.

Any purchase contemplated elicits a “where would I store it?” or a “do we have room for this?”   Needing a new pair of running shoes requires retiring an old pair to Goodwill because there is only one running shoe designated slot on my shoe rack.  My husband’s love for (and collection of) down winter jackets have become a source of contention with closet space at a premium.  I am the queen of donating clothes I don’t wear because I simply do not want them to take up extra space.

Regardless, I wouldn’t trade out little cottage bungalow’s charm for the world.  I love our cozy little slice of town.  Moreover, I love the intentionality it forces us to practice.  In this world of “bigger is better” and excess is the new normal, I prefer to live our lives on a smaller scale.  There are very few items, if any, not in our possession that we truly need.  So in general, if we don’t need it, we don’t buy it.

As you would imagine from my hard-working, multi-function furniture, I love when objects – and foods – truly are “earning their keep”…. which leads me to this splendid little green number.  It is part sauce for roasted chicken or veggies, part veggie dip, and part salad dressing.  But, I promise you, it is 100% delicious.

IMG_2288.jpg

Seriously now. This stuff is the bomb-dot-com.  I have no problem expressing my love for it with cheesy sayings (see previous sentence) because after making it, I spent the next weeks wracking my brain for excuses to make it again and again.  Lucky for me, there are many (see links at bottom of post)!

I make a big batch and use it throughout the week, or you can always freeze a portion of it.  The recipe below is enough for approximately 2 different usages – depending how liberally it is applied in each.

Peruvian-Style Green Sauce

Active Time: 10 minutes   Additional time: 2o+ minutes chilling 

Special equipment: Blender or immersion blender

  • 1 small jalapeño roughly chopped, seeds and ribs removed
  • 1 small anaheim pepper roughly chopped, seeds and ribs removed
  •  1 cup fresh cilantro leaves
  • 2 large garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup mayonaise
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 tbl. fresh lime juice, plus more to taste
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. black pepper
  • 2 tbl. extra virgin olive oil

Place all ingredients, except for olive oil, in blender or bowl if using an immersion blender.

IMG_2274.jpg

IMG_2282.jpg

IMG_2283.JPG

Blend all ingredients until smooth.  Then slowly drizzle in olive oil while continuing to blend.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes and up to 5 days.  The finished product will seem really runny initially but will thicken while chilling.

IMG_2289.jpg

Hello, yummy green sauce.

Here is are a couple recipes that puts this sauce to work!  (More to come!)

2 thoughts on “Peruvian-Style Green Sauce

Leave a Reply

