Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Banana Smoothie

My morning smoothie obsession has begun including one of my favorite foods of all time.  Avocados.

I used to stand firmly in the camp where avocados only belong in guacamole, on BLTs, in salads, and in a smoked salmon, cream cheese omelets.  But avocado in something sweet?!?  Now thats crazy town.

And then, I ate the most delicious creamy chocolate dip at a friends house, begged for the recipe to discover that avocado was the reason it was so creamy and rich.  WHAT!?  Gross, recipe in garbage never to be made again (just kidding).   But really now, why not add avocados to something sweet?  They are a mild tasting, creamy, nutrient packed burst of awesomeness.

IMG_1868

So in order to punch up the creaminess of your smoothie and make it – dare I say – ice-cream like, add AVOCADO!  Frozen banana, peanut butter, some unsweetened raw cocoa powder, almond milk and of course the food of the gods – Avocado!  Wholesome nutrients masquerading as something that tastes like dessert?  I’ll take one of those please!!

Easy and delicious!  Breakfast, lunch, or snack.  For me, this is the holy grail of smoothies.  On days when I have no interest in eating healthy, this concoction tricks my body into thinking I am splurging when really I am getting a big boost of vitamin E, protein, calcium, potassium, vitamin B6, vitamin K, and antioxidants.

Chocolate, Peanut Butter and Banana Smoothie  

  • 1 cup unsweetened, plain almond milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 med/large avocado
  • 1 heaping tablespoon peanut butter
  • 1 tbl. unsweetened cocoa powder.

This recipe makes two smoothies.

Blend almond milk and frozen banana until smooth.  Add avocado and blend until combined.  Then add peanut butter and cocoa powder and blend well.

Easy and delicious!  Breakfast, lunch, or snack.  For me, this is the holy grail of smoothies.  For days when I have no interest in eating healthy, this concoction tricks my body into thinking I am splurging – when really I am getting a big boost of vitamin E, protein, calcium, potassium, vitamin B6, vitamin K, and antioxidants.

So on occasion, skip the berries and kale and go for one of these babies!  Smoothie lovers, milkshake lovers, kids, health-food averse husbands, and people who like delicious things will all be lining up for one of these.

Leave a Reply

