Mango Avocado Salsa

On a spiciness scale of plain yogurt to ghost peppers, my preference lands somewhere just above plain yogurt.  As a kid I thought ketchup was too spicy, so while every other kid was busy dumping it on everything in sight, I stuck to my Nonna’s homemade bleu cheese dip.  I was a weird foodie kid from the get go.

My husband, who is 10 years my senior, keeps waiting for more of my tastebuds to die so that we can finally add an additional star to our Thai food order.  “Just wait until you get older,” he says.  So far, no such luck.  Sorry, Tim. 

But Salsa…I love salsa.  Maybe not spicy salsa and yes, I have been told by many that mild salsa isn’t real salsa.  But to them I say, who made you the salsa boss?!

IMG_1582

So this Mango Avocado Salsa, may not be real salsa, but all I know is that it is REALLY tasty.  I made a mild version with bell peppers but you can chop up a red jalapeño or two if you want more heat.

Just to keep us all on our toes, this salsa is also made out of two of the hardest things to cut into cubes without making a mess: Avocados and Mangos.  I will be honest.  I am still working on gracefully cutting a mango.  The method I use is to quarter it around the pit.  Then skin each quarter and dice from there.  If you have a better method, please share!!!

IMG_1581

Avocados I have a little more confidence with.  After halving the avocado, I keep the avocado flesh in the skin and score all the way down to the skin in a grid pattern. Then take a spoon and separate the skin from the avocado flesh.  Yay, avocado cubes!

Onions are basically the best designed produce for easy dicing, but a lot of raw onion in salsa can sometimes be overpowering  –  especially when the onion is extra fresh!  So I borrowed – errr, stole – this little trick from some late-night, binge Food Network watching.  Dice up the onions first and then add the lime juice to them.  The acid in the lime “cooks” the onion and makes their flavor much less overwhelming.  I use this little trick in everything I can!  Including this salsa!

This stuff is awesome on chips, tacos, salads, BBQ teriyaki chicken, or even on its own.  I made it once this week already and am already craving more of its sweet mango and creamy avocado deliciousness.

IMG_1583

 Without further ado…these summer flavors are calling your name.

Mango Avocado Salsa

  • 2 mangoes, cubed
  • 2 avocados cubed
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, finely chopped (or for those who like it hot, 1-2 red jalapeños, finely chopped)
  • 1/2 large red onion
  • juice from one baby lime
  • 1/3 cup cilantro
  • 1/4 tsp. chile powder
  • dash of salt

Finely chop onions and add to the bowl you will mix your salsa in.  Immediately add the juice from one small lime to the onions and give the onions a quick toss to coat.  Dice the mangos, peppers, and avocados.  Tear or coarsely chop the cilantro. Add the mangos, peppers, avocado, and cilantro.  Gently toss the salsa until ingredients evenly dispersed.  Add the chile powder and a dash of salt. Gently toss again.  Cover and chill until serving.

This is enough to serve a crowd.  So, now all we need is some Salsa music and maybe a BBQ invite;)

Leave a Reply

