The BEST Soft and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ok, I’m not usually a big chocolate chip cookie fan.  Never have been.  In the hierarchy of classic lunch box faves like peanut butter, oatmeal raisin, and chocolate chip.  Chocolate chip would come in last place.

I was pretty neutral to them in general.  They were either soft and “meh” on flavor, or flavorful but too crunchy and hard – which is the way my mom always made them.  I am a soft, chewy cookie fan; what can I say?

I am sure you know where this is headed, but my days of chocolate chip cookie neutrality are over!

Welcome to the most perfectly, perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe!!!  I toyed with it to see if there were any tweaks to be had, but nope, Monique from Ambitious Kitchen nailed it! Recipe credits all go to AmbitiousKitchen.com.
The secret ?  Browning the butter! Oh, and a sprinkle of coarse sea salt!  (Note: Our family prefers milk chocolate chips, so thats the only type I used.)

You can thank me later… As you are pouring your 2nd glass of milk and munching on your 3rd cookie.  If you are on a diet, you may want to ignore this post entirely because these will ruin it… and continue to ruin it as your crave them day after day.

I am speaking from experience here because I may or may not have made this recipe 6 or 7 times in the past month.

4th of July weekend, 9 people devoured around 8 dozen of these over the course of 2 days.  I am electing to live in the ignorance of how many cookies that was per person…

And, I may or may not have invited our friends over last night as an excuse to make this recipe again.  Maybe we can say its the cookies that bring people together?  Quite possibly all East and West Germany needed post WWII were these chocolate-chippy bad boys?  I’ll just throw that delicious peacemaking tactic out there for future generations’ use 😉

Even if you aren’t a chocolate chip fan, you are about to become one, like I did.  Enjoy!!    

Leave a Reply

