A box of lemons…

I could start with some cliche’ saying that starts with “when life gives you lemons…”  But instead, I’ll stick with the truth.  When your mother-in-law has a lemon tree in her yard and sends you a beautiful box full of lemons every year, what do you do with this box of luscious lemon treasures?

IMG_1294

First of all, if these flavorful beauties are lemons, then what on earth have I been buying at the store?  Holy cow!  All I’m saying is that if you live somewhere warm enough for fresh citrus fruits, consider yourself blessed!  Even the best of the best lemons and oranges that I can pick up from local stores, are no where near as wonderful.

So… I have made lemon bars, assembled lemon salad dressings, simmered burre blanc sauce, put lemon in my tea,  and alas, made my husband’s favorite lemon meringue pie.

FullSizeRender-1

Alright, ya’ll, I am not the queen of pie crust by any means.  So when I came across this pie crust recipe on Epicurious and it worked time after time. I deemed it the most fool proof pie crust.  I typically make it with apple cider vinegar as directed but when making a pie that I think the added tang might not go well with, I substitute traditional white vinegar.  Highly recommended!

Bake the crust at 375 degrees for about 15 minutes with pie weights or some sort of make-shift pie weight (my weight of choice was parchment with some dried beans).

THE FILLING

Mix the first 6 ingredients until simmering.  Then add the egg yolks and cook until it returns to a simmer and begins to thicken.  Remove the filling from the heat and mix in the butter.  Pour filling into the partially baked crust and set aside.

Raise oven temperature to 425 degrees.

THE MERINGUE

  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 4 egg whites, at room temperature
  • 1⁄2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1⁄4 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1⁄2 cup sugar

Beat egg whites with tartar and 1 tbl. of sugar until soft peaks form.  Then slowly add the remaining sugar until stiff peaks form.  Finally, add the vanilla until combined.

Carefully spoon this mixture on top of the hot filling.  Bake the assembled pie for an additional 20-25 minutes (or until the desired golden brown color appears).

Allow pie to cool for several hours and room temp.  Then place in fridge for a minimum of 2 hours, but overnight is best.

Then slice and enjoy!  We sure did;)

FullSizeRender-4

Leave a Reply

