Chocolate covered Coconut Truffles

Being a responsible consumer when it comes to chocolate is important to me.  Cocoa is one of the world’s most guilty industries for human rights abuses, and in general, giving up mainstream candy really wasn’t all that tough for me.  Most have overly sweet chocolate and equally sugary fillings that I don’t find appealing.  Especially after staying away from them for so long, the thought of eating one gives me a sugar rush!  Too much sugar, I tell you.

Do you see where I said “in general?”  There is of course an exception….Well, sort of…At leas an exception when it comes to the filling).  Almond Joy!  A soft spot for these is genetically engrained.  My mom loves them.  My aunt loves them.  And, well, I love the filling in them…  (Is that how genetics work?)  Back in the days of eating candy bars, I loved the sweet chewy coconut insides, but picked off the super-sweet chocolate coating.  And that almond?  Meh, I could take it or leave it.

So the quest for a less sweet, all natural, alternative began.  I have tried a bunch of recipes for these.  Some were total flops.  Some had a few redeeming qualities, but all were way too sweet.   So I have have combined the more successful elements of each into one recipe!  The result is melt in your mouth aaaaa-mazing.

DSCN1919

The recipe makes about 18 one inch truffles but can easily be adjusted for more or fewer.  Although, the person who wants fewer is crazy, or they can just send their extra truffles my way.  I will be happy to take care of them for you.

  • 2+ cups of unsweetened dried coconut flakes (preferably organic)
  • 5 tbl. coconut oil (preferably extra-virgin organic)
  • 2 tbl. honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 4 oz. high quality chocolate, finely chopped (milk or dark)

In a food processor, blend the coconut flakes until they are very fine.  When they are done, they should be a bit larger chunks than are in coconut flour.  Once well processed, measure two cups of coconut.  I found that after blending the coconut flakes, they measured much less.  You will want about 2 cups of the well blended version.

Then add the honey, coconut oil, and vanilla.  I found it was helpful to heat my coconut oil in the microwave for a few seconds to soften it.  Pulse all of these ingredients with the coconut in the food processor until they are thoroughly combined.

Form the coconut mixture into small 1 inch sized balls with your fingers and place on baking sheet lined with wax paper or parchment.  My mixture was too fragile to roll into balls, but I could easily shape them with my fingers.  Stick the finished tray in the freezer for a few minutes for them to firm up while you melt your chocolate.

To ensure a smooth chocolate texture, I placed a stainless steel bowl over simmering water but was careful not to let the bowl touch the water.  My chocolate melted in just a few minutes and with constant stirring, melted all velvety smooth.  Be sure to remove bowl from the heat before going on to the next step.

Remove your coconut balls from the freezer, and using two forks, roll them in the chocolate.  After all of the balls are done, stick them in the fridge for the chocolate to firm up.

Once the chocolate has hardened, store the truffles in an airtight container in the fridge.  (These also freeze wonderfully and can be kept frozen for a couple of weeks.)

These are melt in your mouth delicious!  And, I love that the filling doesn’t have any refined sugar added to it!  Definitely faaaaar from a health food, but still a touch less unhealthy than the grocery store alternative. Pull these our when you invite a friend over for an afternoon cup of coffee or when you need a simple finger food to bring to a holiday party.  (Oh man, how great would these be at a New Years party!?)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

