Recipes we LOVE this Winter

Winter is my favorite cooking season! We spend most of the summer avoiding baking and opt for grilling. So I file away recipes that I deem un-summer-friendly to try once the weather starts to turn. So now that its winter, I get to pull out all of my winter faves and newbies. There is nothing like coming in from the cold to a warm and yummy smelling house. It is pretty much heaven on earth as far as I am concerned.

Smoked Salmon Chowder

Having a bad day? Cuddle up with a bowl full of this delicious Smoked Salmon Chowder from Pinch of Yum. As Seattleites and with family in the seafood biz, I admit that I was a bit skeptical of a chowder recipe made by a Midwest gal. By the time I tasted my first bite of heaven, all of my skepticism had melted away. This has become our favorite go-to chowder recipe. My husband has added it to his infamous “Top 5 Dinners” list (there are many more than 5 meals currently laying claim to the title – nonetheless, it’s his highest food related praise).

Brussel Sprouts with Balsamic Vinegar and Honey

As a kid, I hated brussel sprouts, but these roasted brussel sprouts with balsamic vinegar and honey from Once Upon a Chef are sure to convert even the most brussel-averse – no matter their age. I love that they are seasoned with things that I always have in my cupboards, too. These were even deemed worthy of our Thanksgiving table, which in our house is quite the culinary honor. (Ha!)

The hubby loves chewy molasses cookies. So because I am an awesome wife and not at all because I love them too (cough, cough), I oblige his request. This recipe on Epicurious is the favorite in our house. They are the right amount of molasses-y chewy goodness. My tip is to make sure you don’t over-bake them! If you are like us and prefer them extra chewy and gooey, you may even want to try less time than the recipe recommends.

Cinnamon Rolls with Cream Cheese Frosting

For a weekend breakfast treat there is nothing better than warm cinnamon rolls with cream cheese frosting. This award-winning recipe originally from Bon Appetit is the best! I usually skip the rise after forming the rolls and opt for sticking them in the fridge overnight instead. That makes baking them up in the morning a snap. So, so good. I bet you won’t even have leftovers.

Just thinking about these recipes makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I want my house filled with these smells stat!

Leave a Reply

