Dressember

Dressember is a movement that started a few years back (think Mo-vember for ladies) to celebrate the femininity and freedoms that all women deserve to have. Since then, it has morphed into a worldwide effort to oppose the trafficking and the exploitation of women around the globe.  Sadly, many women’s femininity cannot be celebrated because this gift is exploited (human trafficking) or suppressed (burqa). Dressember is a challenge to wear a dress every day in December to raise awareness and support for women who can’t do or dress as they please.     

I am a jeans, t-shirts, and boots kind of girl.  So I guess, you could say, I am not great at celebrating or embracing my femininity through my clothing choices. For December, I will be giving this whole wear-dresses-for-31-days thing a try. In preparation, I inventoried my closet.   I have almost no dresses that are December in Seattle weather friendly. So, I will be breaking the rules and counting skirts as “dresses.” Even with my rule breaking, I have a grand total of FOUR dresses or skirts that aren’t cocktail dresses and can be worn in the winter! Four.  So everyone, get ready for some really creative outfits.  We’ll see how this goes.

Wish me luck, but try not to judge me if you see me back in Levis mid-month.  (After all, hair and make-up can be feminine too, right?)

Leave a Reply

