Interesting Finds around the Web

Enjoy some interesting reads on adoption from around the web. If you read nothing else, please read Jillian Lauren’s piece in the Huffington Post. As an adoptee herself as well as an adoptive mother, she shares her experiences with such a poignant voice it is hard to discount her passion, love, and struggle. Love her! (By the way, if you need a scandalously good read, check out Lauren’s autobiographical memoir Some Girls about her time in the Sultan of Brunei’s Harem. Yes, it really happened)!

Why I Love Adoption – By Jillian Lauren, Huffington Post   “I am both an adult adoptee and an adoptive mother to a beautiful firebrand of a 6-year-old boy from Ethiopia. I love adoption. I love the whole messy, rich, textured, complex world it has given me. I do not love it because it is one long Disney happy ending. Rather, I love it for the way its struggles have defined my life and made me strong. I love it for the fascinating, crazy quilt of a family it has stitched together for me. My story began with my unwed birthmother stranded alone in a snow-blanketed Chicago….” Read More

Pittsburgh detective thinks outside the box to help Foster Kids

Adoption Day Celebrates Growing Michigan Families – By Martindale and Bouffard, The Detroit News   “Scores of Michigan families will have much to be grateful for Thanksgiving Day after finalizing the adoptions of about 100 children Tuesday during Michigan’s 12th annual Adoption Day…” Read more

‘I was 23 and a Vogue editor when I fostered and orphan Girl’ – By Lisa Lovatt-Smith, The Observer   “Twenty-three years ago, a child ran into my life. Her name was Sabrina, and I met her in Paris, when she was five and I was 23. I had been in Paris for two years. As the Paris editor of the Spanish Vogue group of magazines, I had a wonderful career, a cozy domesticity with my sloe-eyed actor boyfriend, Eric Adjani, and a killer wardrobe. It was a charmed time in my life, full of love and glamour. Flowers sent by Karl Lagerfeld, front-row seats at fashion shows, highbrow conversation about the newest trends – I loved it all. Becoming the guardian of a little girl wasn’t part of the plan…” Read More

Leave a Reply

